ISO of tech savvy to support displaced Houston residents

Hi folks,

I know this is Code for Philly and (a) I am no longer in Philly and (b) this is not a Philly-specific project. Forgive me! Y’all are the people I know.

I am looking for someone who can help me (and others) export information from sites like AirBnB and VRBO into a shareable form so that it can be used to place Houston area residents who need temporary housing. It could be as simple as exporting to a Google doc or something more complicated that updates in real time.

The need is evolving, so there might be more specific requirements by tomorrow.

Let me know if you’re interested in thinking this through and/or if you have ideas of others outside of Philly who might.

Thanks!

Amy Laura

I’m definitely interested in helping out with this. I have some experience in scraping sites for data like this and am confident that I can get the necessary data from both AirBnB and VRBO.

By sharable, do you mean offline sharable? If not offline, what makes this more useful than the end users searching directly on the AirBnB and VRBO sites?

Hi Jason! Thanks for being in touch!

Offline shareable, but ideally in a form that can be updated–both from the data source and the people accessing it.

The scenario is less individual people in need of homes connecting with individual homeowners and more a core group of support people working to place a large group of people, many of whom won’t have internet access. Does that make sense?

The relevant data that comes to mind (there might be more):

Availability
home or private room
Made available for free to Harvey evacuees (folks are opting in)
Number of beds
Number of guests allowed
Contact info? (Airbnb might not allow)

On the input side, from the other end, some way to update status (inquiry made, pending response, evacuees placed, etc.)

That makes total sense.